HomeHorse RacingConfirmed Scottish Grand National 2024 runners and riders for Saturday’s big race...

Confirmed Scottish Grand National 2024 runners and riders for Saturday’s big race at Ayr


Related stories


The Scottish Grand National is the latest battleground in the fight for the British Jump Trainers’ Championship – and Willie Mullins makes the trip across the Irish Sea with a six-strong squad including antepost favourite Macdermott.

The Closutton maestro leads the title race following I Am Maximus’ sensational victory in the English equivalent at Aintree and also saddles Klarc Kent, Mr Incredible, Ontheropes, Spanish Harlem and We’llhavewan in his bid for a quick-fire Grand National double.

Dan Skelton is about £50,000 behind Mullins in the standings and relies on Ballygrifincottage, who has failed to sparkle over fences since beating Beauport – last month’s Midlands Grand National winner – on chase debut in November 2022.

Reigning trainers’ champ Paul Nicholls is less than £100,000 behind in third and the Ditcheat handler fires Broken Halo and top weight Stay Away Fay at the contest in his bid to win the race for the first time since 2017.

A £112,540 prize is on offer to winning connections so the Scottish Grand National could play a major role in deciding whether the trainers’ crown heads to Ireland for the first time since 1954, Nicholls’ for a record equalling 15th time or finds a new home at Skelton’s yard.

Scottish Grand National odds can be found on the Paddy Power website and Paddy Power app, otherwise, the confirmed runners and riders for Saturday’s big race at Ayr are below.

Scottish Grand National runners and riders

The following 26 horses have been declared for the Scottish Grand National 2024.

Stay Away Fay (Harry Cobden)
Mr Incredible (Patrick Mullins)
Elvis Mail (Bruce Lynn)
Beauport (Jordan Nailor)
Ontheropes (Brian Hayes)
Spanish Harlem (Paul Townend)
Gold Cup Bailly (JJ Slevin)
Iron Bridge (Jonjo O’Neill Jr)
Whistleinthedark (Danny McMenamin)
Ballygrifincottage (Harry Skelton)
Macdermott (Danny Mullins)
Tommie Beau (Micheal Nolan)
Broken Halo (Brony Frost)
Mr Vango (Ben Jones)
Autonomous Cloud (Jonathan Burke)
Anglers Crag (Henry Brooke)
Inis Oirr (Derek Fox)
My Silver Lining (James Best)
Git Maker (Gavin Sheehan)
Surrey Quest (Kevin Brogan)
Klarc Kent (Sean O’Keeffe)
Whacker Clan (Rachael Blackmore)
Egbert (Brendan Powell)
Punitive (William Maggs)
Secret Reprieve (James Turner)
We’llhavewan (Kieran Callaghan)

Saturday’s Racing Tips

Read More on the Scottish Grand National 2024

The latest racing odds are on PaddyPower.com now

The Paddy Power Guide To Safer Gambling – Everything You Need To Know

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories