HomeSportsSpanish MotoGP Sprint Results: Nail-biting 12 laps of motorcycle racing! - motor...

Spanish MotoGP Sprint Results: Nail-biting 12 laps of motorcycle racing! – motor sports News


Related stories


The Spanish GP Sprint race saw race-leader Marc Marquez crash, while Jorge Martin takes the win, followed by Gas Gas rookie Acosta in second and Yamaha’s Fabio Quartararo in third.

For those who say that MotoGP is unlike the old days, then the Spanish GP Sprint race makes you think twice. Jorge Martin takes the win, extending his championship points, while Acosta takes second, followed by Fabio Quartararo. The 12-lap race saw a whole season’s drama with multiple rider crashes, overtakes, Marquez’s lead, and Acosta’s leap forward in the overall standings. 

Spanish MotoGP Sprint Race: The start

Marc Marquez started on pole position | Image: MotoGP

The Spanish GP Sprint race saw big names starting at the front row, with Marc Marquez taking pole position, with Marco Bezzecchi and championship leader Jorge Martin in third. When it was lights out, KTM’s Brad Binder got off to a great start, ahead of Marquez and Martin, however, Martin quickly took the lead, with Marquez right behind. 

Lap 2 saw the second big drama when KTM’s Jack Miller crashed, which we’ll get back to in a bit. The race saw three Ducatis lead, with the Marquez brothers running second and third, while Marc Marquez capitalised on an error made by race leader Martin to take the lead on lap 6. 

Bajaj Pulsar 220F

Bajaj silently rolls out updated Pulsar 220F – gets new instrument console

BS-VI Royal Enfield Classic 350 launched at Rs 1.65 lakh with two new colour options

5 scooters in India with lowest seat height for short riders: TVS Scooty, Honda Activa & more!

Brixton Crossfire 500

Brixton Motorcycles to enter India with four models, establish manufacturing plant

Spanish MotoGP Sprint Race: The crashes

spanish gp sprint race results
The Sprint race saw multiple riders go down on turn 5 | Image: MotoGP

The race was nothing short of nail-biting action, as multiple riders went down, starting with KTM’s Jack Miller, on the final turn of lap 2 and Aleix Espargo on turn 8. Current world champion Francesco Bagnaia was also an early casualty of the race, after being sandwiched between Bezzecchi and Brad Binder on lap 3. The incident was scrutinised and the riders were cleared later. 

That said, the race leader Marc Marquez also crashed on lap 9, and he wasn’t the only rider, as Alex Marquez, Binder and Bastianini went down on turn 5, handing the second position to Acosta, who maintained his position to second place in the Sprint race, as well as move up the ladder on the overall scoreboard to second, behind Martin.

Spanish MotoGP Sprint Race: Results

Position Rider Team
1 Jorge Martin Pramac Ducati
2 Pedro Acosta Red Bull GASGAS
3 Fabio Quartararo Monster Yamaha
4 Daniel Pedrosa Red Bull KTM
5 Franco Morbidelli Pramac Ducati
6 Raul Fernandez Trackhouse Aprilia
7 Marc Marquez Gresini Ducati
8 Augusto Fernandez Red Bull GASGAS
9 Miguel Oliveira Trackhouse Aprilia
10 Joan Mir Repsol Honda

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories